On #goals

I used to really hate the Proverbs 31 Woman. I mean, the whole passage starts off with “A wife of noble character who can find?” Some guy complaining about how he can’t find a good girl; instantly I’m turning the page. And don’t even get me started with all the “She makes linen garments” and “She brings her husband good” stuff. This Proverbs 31 chick always seemed so demure and passive and put together in ways that I could never be. She is perfect and I am a hurricane.

But recently, God has been working on this stubborn, sassy heart of mine and I’ve begun to see her in a different light. I used to get really caught up on the fact that she is only appreciated in the context of her husband. I am a Strong Independent Woman; how am I supposed to relate to this woman? But I think all of that husband stuff is secondary to who she is.

She is hardworking and determined. She is a provider. She has a generous heart. She is talented. She is strong and dignified. And then there’s the part that I’m pretty sure God put in there just for me: She laughs without fear of the future.

There’s this popular hashtag on social media, #goals, that people like to use to indicate that something is an inspiration to them. #couplegoals or #fitnessgoals or #teachergoals; the list goes on. It’s a compliment, an indication of admiration.

The Proverbs 31 Woman is real #goals. It’s so wonderfully cliché of me to even say, but oh my goodness, I mean it. I no longer see her as a conservative’s attempt to tone me down but rather as an inspiration to work towards. Who better to aspire to be than this amazing, God-fearing woman? The way I read it, she’s intense and passionate and driven and I’d bet you money that she was a hurricane just like me. 

 

Leave a Reply

